Contact UsSite MapIntranetFran├žais

The Network

Structure > Board of Directors

Member of the Board of Directors
Dr. Laurent J. Lewis
Professor,  Département de physique, Université de Montréal,
Vice-Dean of Research,  Faculté des arts et des sciences, Université de Montréal

Laurent J. Lewis, professor in the Département de physique, has been employed by the Université de Montréal since 1986.  A pioneer of digital modelling, Dr. Lewis created the research group Groupe de recherche en physique numérique des matériaux at the Université de Montréal. He was the founding director of the Réseau québécois de calcul de haute performance (RQCHP), which he directed from 1999 to 2005, and of the Calcul haute performance Québec consortium, which he directed from 2001 to 2005. In this capacity he led, with Canada Foundation for Innovation, NSERC, Fonds québécois de la recherché sur la nature et les technologies and NanoQuébec, several important grant applications for equipment and infrastructure that allowed the researchers of RQCHP to acquire world-class computing facilities.  With 160 scientific publications to his credit, he is interested in various issues relating to the physics and materials of condensed matter. He was a visiting professor at the Laboratoire de physique de la matière condensée et des nanostructures of the Université Claude-Bernard Lyon 1, at the Institut romand de recherche numérique en physique des matériaux of the École polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne, and at the Laboratory of Physics of the Helsinki University of Technology. Dr. Lewis also has extensive experience in university management. He was the Assistant Director of the Département de physique from 1997 to 2001, and the Director from 2001 to 2007. Since August 2008, he has been the Vice-Dean of Research of the Faculté des arts et des sciences. He has or is presently participating in numerous departmental, faculty and university committees. Outside the university, he has also served on several permanent and ad hoc NSERC committees. Finally, he was the President of the 78th conference of the Association francophone pour le savoir, which was held at the Université de Montréal in May 2010.

network banner